Five Minutes

A little icing on the Cake

by: Carmen Wilkinson

So today I baked a cake. Nothing special. A store bought mix. I did add a little dab of pure Mexican vanilla. I don’t know what the big deal is about the Mexican Vanilla. To me vanilla seems to taste like vanilla. I actually prefer clear vanilla. So back to the cake.

The cake was baked in an aluminum cake pan. One of the old fashioned pans with a hole in the center. Great for making bunts or pound cakes. You get the idea.

So, after the cake was baked and cooled, I placed it neatly on a plate. Then smeared some store bought icing. I don’t know what is going on with that darn store bought icing. It use to taste fabulous no matter what flavor you used. That’s another story for another day.

So here I am with my cake that has a hole in the center. The cake has beautiful icing smeared over the top. It just does not look like something good to eat. It is missing something. What must I do?

The idea hits me like a light bulb switched on. I will add something to my cake. I take a stick of butter, a few clumps of frozen brown sugar, and some fresh pecans then I put them in a small boiler. I melt all of the ingredients and then pour it over the top of my cake.

As the warm mixture drizzles over the cake I realize I have more of a liquid than expected. I then poke holes in my cake and allow the gooey, yummy goodness to drizzle into the cake.

Now this cake looks amazing. It kind of favors home made. In reality it is home made but I used a mix. It is yummy to the eyes. By the time my family comes home it has really absorbed all the tasty flavors. Before supper, half the cake is gone!

It took me less than five minutes to perfect my icing. It took my family less than that to eat half the cake! Always be Creative!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment