Are Writers Really Lonely?

I keep reading about how writing is lonely and how lonely writers are. Is that true?  I consider myself a writer. I have been writing since I was in grade school. I remember I first began with poetry and then short stories. I had a hard time moving from one to the other and in time I mastered the ability to be able to do both at the same time if need be.

Growing up I felt lonely often. I lived way out in the woods and we didn’t have a telephone at my home. Our television only picked up two channels. Public Broadcasting and occasionally the news channel. Mostly public broadcasting.  My brothers were both older than myself and well we never where extremely close. My middle brother was mean. I lived my life feeling like he hated me. My oldest brother was my protector but he too had stuff to do that didn’t include a little sister tagging along.

I spent a lot of time with my little dog and my cat. I explored the woods and ventured into the wild. I really loved reading books but even those were scarce. I leaned towards stuff like Edgar Allen Poe. I liked the Wizard of Oz and Alice in Wonderland. I remember reading my grandfather’ s westerns  because I ran out of materiel to read.

Now I am grown and I have the modern conveniences of a phone, satellite t.v., and even the internet! I have a lot of other conveniences as well. I do enjoy writing. I work full time, I am an artist also and a writer. I have a wonderful family, a home and yard to maintain. Pets to take care of to boot. I don’t feel as if I ever get ‘lonely’.

Writing of course does take your time. And it is not the kind of thing you can do with a whole group of people I suppose. You can on occasion reach out and ask for some input or suggestions. I am sure a group can work on a project together. But for the most part it is a very personal thing. Although you have to do it ‘alone’ for the most part does that truly make you ‘lonely?’ Or is the saying referring to the act of being lonely? If you are alone with your thoughts are you lonely? I don’t know about you guys but I have so many thoughts that ramble through my head that I don’t ever feel ‘alone.’ If anything I feel over crowded at times!

I think writers are whatever they choose to be. If they choose to be alone or lonely or lonesome then that is by choice. I get my best work accomplished when I don’t have others disturbing me. I think rather than that being lonely that is more like ‘smart work.’ Who knows. I have a way to go to cultivate my skills and talents and I just do not have a clue where they are taking me. I enjoy being a night owl and I enjoy being ‘alone with my thoughts.’

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment